Tuesday, June 28, 2011

NHL Realignment

NHL realignment talk is in the air. With the Thrashers move to Winnipeg it gives the league the opportunity to make a few changes that have been sitting in their "To-do" box for quite some time.

According to Craig Custance the new alignment would cut the divisions down from three per conference to two. And apparently Detroit, Columbus, and Nashville would be interested in moving to the East.

With all of this in mind, and coming to the conclusion that Nashville is stuck in the West for now, we imagine what the league could look like in year or so. That is if there is still a team in Phoenix.

Eastern Conference

  • Division I

    • Boston Bruins
    • Buffalo Sabres
    • Montreal Canadiens
    • New Jersey Devils
    • New York Islanders
    • New York Rangers
    • Ottawa Senators
    • Toronto Maple Leafs
  • Division II

    • Carolina Hurricanes
    • Columbus Blue Jackets
    • Detroit Red Wings
    • Florida Panthers
    • Pittsburgh Penguins
    • Philadelphia Flyers
    • Tampa Bay Lightning
    • Washington Capitals

Western Conference

  • Division III

    • Chicago Blackhawks
    • Colorado Avalanche
    • Dallas Stars
    • Minnesota Wild
    • Nashville Predators
    • St. Louis Blues
    • Winnipeg Jets
  • Division IV

    • Anaheim Ducks
    • Calgary Flames
    • Edmonton Oilers
    • Los Angeles Kings
    • Phoenix Coyotes
    • San Jose Sharks
    • Vancouver Cancuks

Update: The National Post also gave the new alignment a go, coming up with a different Eastern Conference divisional breakdown